My Perfect Shopping Mall

This is a post that I’m totally ripping off of Patrick Rhone on.

If you were to design the perfect shopping mall, what types of stores would it have? The rules are simple. It does not have to be existing brands or even what one would find in the modern American mall — just types of stores. To keep it easy we limited ourselves to ten.

This seemed like a fun thought exercise, so, with Patrick’s blessing, I figured I’d share my own dream mall.

  1. A quality electronics store that sells electronics that don’t go out of style and that you will use for a long time. They would sell the kinds of electronics that you don’t find yourself upgrading regularly, such as headphones, ereaders, and digital cameras. if they could lower their environmental impact by selling second-hand electronics, that would be even better. Most of my electronics(my cellphone, ereader, a few tamagotchi, etc.) are all secondhand, and they perform very well.
  2. A clean thrift store. This would be the kind of place that washes things before selling them, just in case. It would be organized more like a traditional retail store, and because all the wares are secondhand, it’d have a low impact on the environment. I find that I generally discover pieces of clothes that I like more in thrift stores than I do in retail shops, so I rarely buy new clothes, in general.
  3. A vegan grocery store. There has been a recent trend as of late where grocery stores are popping up in malls. I’ve even got to go in one up in Canada! Also, there’s a few German grocery stores that are completely vegan. Since this is my dream mall where I can have whatever I want, I want to emphasize sustainability and ethics by having a grocery store that is all vegan because even the UN agrees that a worldwide move to a vegan diet will save us from climate change.
  4. A Library. My current local mall has a branch of the library in it, which is super awesome, so step one to my dream mall becoming a reality is a thing. Libraries are more environmentally friendly because those books are reused countless times, much unlike most books in people’s personal libraries. In addition, libraries are important for lower income people, including families and students. 
  5. A bento shop would be pretty awesome. I pack my lunches for work every weekday in a bento box and even blog about it on another site. I think it’d be really nice to have a store where I can go and buy any basic gadget I want for bento making. Or better yet, rent a small kitchen in it for an hour and make my own bento with any tools I could want available without needing to clutter up my home with extra cooking stuff.
  6. A small stationary store would be awesome. I would just want Noodler’s and Pilot inks(both vegan) and high quality notebooks. Of course, good quality pens would be lovely too, but I don’t think I’ll be in the pen market for a long time.
    1. Can we have a moment of silence for my vintage Esterbrook? It leaked on three garments the last three days I used it, even after a cleaning, so I discarded it and filled up my Lamy. Now, my nice secondhand clothes aren’t in jeopardy anymore, but I’m gonna miss the feel of that nib on paper.
  7. A bag store. This store would only sell high quality vegan friendly bags. This would probably just be a kiosk, in all honesty, because there’s not a ton of high-end brands out there. I think the best quality I’ve found is Matt & Nat, but I really do like the styles Pixie Mood releases. There might be other brands out there, but if they’re quality, I want them in there. These bags would be made to last a lifetime, and in case a problem with a bag should arise, I’d love for them to perform affordable repairs.
  8. A tailor. There is one in my local mall, but they are incredibly expensive(and they wanted to tailor a dress I bought the wrong way, so never going back there) but a place to get your clothes fitted perfectly to look the best it can on you is important. Part of comfort is a good fit.
  9. A vegan food court is a must. I know that there’s lots of vegan restaurants, and even fast food joints, but the names of most elude me(because I don’t live in Montreal, New York or California). Aux Vires is an awesome place in Montreal that I’ve visited it each time I’ve gone to Canada. It needs a coffee/tea shop too. That’s a must.
  10. A car repair shop. My local mall has a Sears repair shop right next to it, which is a brilliant move. You can just walk to the mall while your car is being worked on and go to the library for a comfortable and quiet work environment, or pick up a few essentials while you wait.
  11. BONUS! A park with a jungle gym and picnic tables and a nice field for people to run around in. This would be nice near the food court. You know how a lot of fast food restaurants have the little play area for kids? This is basically the same idea but outside.

So basically, what I want is a one-stop shop for pretty much everything I need. I didn’t include any shops for furniture or bedding because of how rarely I buy that. Making a special trip to go buy that stuff would be perfectly fine because it wouldn’t be often.

Leave a Reply

